AIA architects announce annual awards

The American Institute of Architects Michigan announced that 7 buildings have been singled out for design excellence and received their awards at its annual Celebration of Architecture on June 8 at the Royal Park Hotel in Rochester. Sixty-three projects were entered in the competition and they were judged by a jury from Chicago, Illinois, chaired by John Ronan, AIA.

The Gold Medal will be awarded to Celeste Allen Novak, AIA; the Hastings award to James P. Ryan, AIA; the President’s award to Joongsub Kim, AIA; the Young Architect award, Lorissa MacAllister, AIA; Legislator of the Year award, Sen. Tonya Schuitmaker; Three honorary affiliates were named, Hugh Acton, Daniel J. Bollman, PE, and Kim Mehl. Four architects will be elected to the AIA College of Fellows, Rainy Hamilton, FAIA, William Hartman, FAIA, Matthew Rossetti, FAIA, and Paul Urbanek, FAIA. The Firm of the Year is Integrated Design Solutions (iDS), based in Troy, Michigan.

The American Institute of Architects Michigan, headquartered in the historic Beaubien House across from the Renaissance Center in downtown Detroit, established its awards program to bring to public attention the value and importance of architectural excellence and to recognize those whose notable achievements encourage all to make excellence in architecture the standard.