10 Main Street Oakland County communities honored with national recognition

WHO: Oakland County Executive L. Brooks Patterson and various city officials from around Oakland County as well as representatives from the honored communities.

WHAT: Patterson will unveil Main Street Oakland County’s new program that will affect the 32 distinct downtowns in Oakland County including those not currently members of Main Street Oakland County as well as reveal the 10 Oakland County communities which have received national accreditation from the National Main Street Center.

WHERE: Sundquist Pavilion /Riley Park, 33113 Grand River Avenue, Farmington (east of Farmington Road and Grand River intersection, by Starbucks). In case of bad weather, the news conference will be held at the Civic Theatre, 33332 Grand River Avenue in Farmington.

WHEN: Tuesday, Aug. 5. Continental breakfast and registration at 9 a.m. A jazz trio will perform before and after the announcement. Program begins at 9:30 a.m. and should last about 30 minutes.

WHY: Oakland County is the only full-service county-level Main Street program in the United States. To be accredited, a community is evaluated on 10 criteria and must receive a perfect score. Nineteen Oakland County communities participate in Main Street Oakland County. Main Street is a trademarked program of the National Main Street Center in Chicago. Clawson, Farmington, Ferndale, Franklin, Highland, Holly, Lake Orion, Ortonville, Oxford, Pontiac and Rochester are select level MSOC communities. Birmingham, Clarkston, Lathrup Village, Leonard, Oak Park, Walled Lake, Waterford and Wixom are communities in the associate level program.